40V HP 21" Brushless Walk Behind Push Mower with 40V 7.5Ah Battery and Charger

Model: #RY401200

4.7 | 263 Reviews
See The Entire 40V HP Lineup!
RYOBI redefines power and convenience with the 40-Volt HP 21 in. Push Cordless Lawn Mower. The premium HP brushless motor provides more power, longer runtime, and a longer motor life. It starts with just a push of a button, without the hassle of gas, oil, or maintenance. This mower is ideal for yards up to 1/2 acre, featuring dual active battery ports and a 40-Volt 7.5Ah battery that provide up to 50-minutes of runtime. The 21 in. durable polypropylene deck is lightweight, resists corrosion, and is covered by a lifetime warranty. The mower has a 10 in. high wheel design and the deck features 7 position single point height adjustment to easily select your grass height between 1.5 in. and 4 in. With the 3-in-1 mowing functions you can choose between bagging, mulching, or side discharge functions. The easy lift single motion bag removal allows you to quickly and easily empty the grass catcher bag and get back to work. When the job is done, the 1 touch aluminum handles fold for compact, vertical storage. This mower includes a 40-Volt rapid charger, which charges your RYOBI 40-Volt batteries 4X faster than the standard charger. The RYOBI 40-Volt HP 21 in. Push Lawn Mower, batteries, and rapid charger are all compatible with 50 plus RYOBI 40-Volt products. This mower is proudly made in the USA with global materials and is backed by a 5-Year Tool Warranty.

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

View our current promotions for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Cutting Height: 1.5" - 4"
  • Deck Size: 21"
  • Weight: 63.5 lbs
  • Battery: 40V 7.5 Ah Battery
  • Mowing Function: Mulching, Bagging, or Side Discharge
  • Recommended Yard Size: 1/4 to 1/2 Acre
  • Deck Height Adjustments: 7-Position Single Point
  • Estimated Runtime: Up to 50 mins.
  • Warranty: 5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty

Includes

  • 40V HP 21" Push Mower
  • 40V 7.5Ah Battery
  • Rapid Charger

Reviews

40V HP 21" Brushless Walk Behind Push Mower with 40V 7.5Ah Battery and Charger
40V HP BRUSHLESS 21" MOWERS is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 263.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mower, light and easy to use Just bought this for our new house. The assembly was easy and charging was quick! Amazing tools!
Date published: 2023-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this yesterday at Home Depot. It is my first battery tools for outdoor and it's amazing!!! Much lighter and quieter than my petrol mower. In addition, it is better for the environment, no need to go to the pump when the tank is empty. When it stops, just enough time to relax, drink a beer and the battery is charged again to finish the job.
Date published: 2023-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Buy Great until 1 year later. Mower continues to turn off when using self propeller. Called ryobi not much help. Referred to authorized repair centers. None want to fix unit. They all say there too busy and not accepting warranty repairs. Also batteries don't last. I use to be able to cut my lawn with one battery now I need 2. Poor and unresponsive customer service. Left with a useless lawnmower. 😞
Date published: 2023-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gas or Electric: Ryobi Electric lawn mower wins! Went to buy a new gas lawn mower at Home Depot. Their main display is all now electric so asked one of the Home Depot crew about them. They were very informed and helped me make the choice easily. I purchased the Ryobi 40V electric walk behind lawnmower a month ago. Have mowed the lawn 4 times now and have no doubt I made the right choice between Gas or Electric. This mower is much quieter (my neighbors love ithis), easier to maintain (no gas or oil), stores upright in less than half the space my old gas mower used. No gas fumes (my wife loves this!!!). Several of my neighbors have stopped by to "check it out", fun to show the features.
Date published: 2023-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have, I'm in love! We got this mower because our gas mower consistently needs servicing. I was skeptical about switching to a battery powered mower. My husband has a full line of battery powered Ryobi tools that I have used and have been very pleased with the performance. When I went to the store I wanted to browse the selection, however there happened to be a Ryobi rep there and he answered my questions and recommended the mower that I purchased. This mower is easy to start and it starts reliability everytime! The mower easily cut my grass and I only drained 1 of the 2 batteries that came with the mower. I am a 5'5" 120 pound woman and I easily cut my large backyard in the Florida summer heat! I will 100% recommend this to everyone I talk to!
Date published: 2023-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Had purchased mower last year and couldn’t be happier. This year I ran into a snag with the operation. I contacted Ryobi and it was quickly resolved without issue.
Date published: 2023-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as gas Bought this at HD and love it. Lifelong gas user and recently converted to the Ryobi 40 V tool line - have used the mower three or four times now and I absolutely love it. It goes with my blower weedeater & pole saw so far. Can’t recommend this line of tools more.
Date published: 2023-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible customer service.batteries won't charge. Bought my ryobi mower 14 months ago. Batteries wont charge. 8 phone calls. Home Depot wont help me. Ryobi keeps me on hold. 7 phone calls. Still no human has answered. On hold for 40 minutes. Referred by text to repair store 1 hour drive away and told there is a 3 week wait time to even trouble shoot the mower. Lousy customer service! Mower only has 12 months use! Batteries wont take a charge. I would not buy this product again! Meanwhile I had to resort to using a weedeater to cut my lawn. I will edit and upgrade this review if and when Ryobi honors their products. One star.
Date published: 2023-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Mower and battery life! I purchased this mower last week and got a chance to use it today, Wow the cut is clean and even. This is my second Ryobi mower the first one the RY40108 20" I purchased in 2017 and it still has a great cut running like new I've been looking to upgrade for over a year now. I love the RY401200 with the crosscut blades makes a big difference the 7.5 battery has good power I mowed my lawn and my neighbors front and back trimmed and used my blower and the battery was at 50% when I finished. I'm very pleased with my purchase and all my D Ryobi 40v tools 👍🏼
Date published: 2023-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerfull No oil to check and gasoline to fill. The way of the furture. Way to go Ryobi
Date published: 2023-07-16
  • y_2023, m_9, d_12, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_258
  • loc_en_US, sid_316066510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support