40V HP Brushless Carbon Fiber Attachment Capable String Trimmer with 4.0 Ah Battery & Charger

Model: #RY40290

4.8 | 359 Reviews
  • Featuring 40V HP Technology for Maximum Power
  • Carbon Fiber Shaft Provides Added Durability
  • EXPAND-IT™ Attachment Capability Allows You to Transform Your Trimmer Into Other Attachment Capable Tools
See The Entire 40V HP Lineup!

More Power. Longer Runtime. Longer Motor Life.

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current promotions for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Battery
40V 4.0 Ah Battery
Recommended Line Diameter
Compatible with 0.080" or 0.095" cutting line
Shaft Type
Straight
Maximum Cutting Path Diameter
15"
Weight
11.6 lbs.
Warranty
5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty

Includes

Reviews

40V HP Brushless Carbon Fiber Attachment Capable String Trimmer with 4.0 Ah Battery & Charger
40V HP BRUSHLESS 15" CARBON FIBER ATTACHMENT CAPABLE STRING TRIMMER KIT is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 358.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Very light and durable thanks to carbon fibre. I also bought the edger expand-it attachment
Date published: 2022-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and powerful Bought this two months ago and have to say that it is relatively light compared to other gas trimmers I have used. It also has two power settings (low and high), but I find for timing the grass around my landscape the low power setting is mare than sufficient.
Date published: 2022-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic purchase! I bought this one week ago and have usef it twice. It is relatively quiet, goes a great job getting rid of the weeds, and I love that it’s cordless! The fully charges battery pack lasts slot longer than expected. If you are thinking about purchasing this tool…do it! You won’t be sorry.
Date published: 2022-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOLY RYOBI Bought this battery powered weed eater last month and I’m really impressed!! Not only does it work well but all my attachments from my old gas unit fit and work just fine.
Date published: 2022-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hassle free and convenient Just bought this and I love it. I love how I don’t have to fight with starting it up. Good power and the 4ah battery lets me finish my yard without having to charge.
Date published: 2022-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Power Purchased this after my B&D trimmer died. This Ryobi 40V trimmer is so much more powerful. I have over 1/2 acre and the trimmer did the job with plenty of battery life available. Came with a free battery so great bonus.
Date published: 2022-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Balanced Tool I bought this in the spring and I am glad I did! I had the corded version, which was a beast, but I found myself putting off using it because of having to pull out the 100ft cord. The cordless did not disappoint. First off, the brushless motor runs smooth. I was used to all the vibration from the corded version's (poorly balanced?) motor. I have used the cordless for two hours, with a brief pause to top off the battery, and afterward my hands weren't tingling like they would with the corded version. Next, the high-low switch. It is in the perfect place for my thumb (for my large hands). It is also not too stiff. So it is easy to switch at will, but I have yet to do so accidentally. Perfectly balanced. The extra Reel Easy blades are amazing. My neighbor hired me to cut down some plants in her backyard. They had about 1" stalks and were about 8ft tall, and there was a 50ft row of them. The blades went through them without too much trouble. They finally broke as I was finishing the last plant. They go through grass like it isn't even there. The battery has plenty of power. After doing the entirety of my neighbor's backyard, stalks and all, I had only used 2/4 bars. To give context, I had to fill 5-6 green waste bins, (the large rolling ones from waste management) to clear up all of the cut-down yard waste. And yes, I was packing it in. I do have one complaint. Compared to the corded weed wacker, the 40V carbon fiber head has a shorter shaft. I am 6'3" tall, and not having to hunch over really saves my back. It is one of the reasons why I got the 10A corded weed wacker in the first place. I could just rest the tip of the weed wacker on the ground while standing up straight. This isn't a huge complaint, but I could see this making a difference for someone looking to use this in a landscaping business
Date published: 2022-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than gas powered Eco I have used a gas weed eater for years, believing that electric did not have enough power. This product exceeded expectation. I tried it out ( Kinda) at Home Depot prior to buying. It looked heavy, but was lighter tahn my has powered one. U wish it came with a shoukder strap.
Date published: 2022-09-08
  • y_2022, m_9, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_349
  • loc_en_US, sid_314600354, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support